NAGW Announces 2018 Pinnacle Award Winners

    Photo: Josh Ditthardt, Siteimprove; Susan Mardele, City of McKinney, Texas; Leslie LabrecqueThe National Association of Government Web Professionals (NAGW) announced its annual Pinnacle Award winners at the organization’s 2018 conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. NAGW Secretary and East Region Director, Barbara Belli, made the announcement during the awards banquet held September 13 at the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown hotel.

    Government websites have progressed dramatically since the first Pinnacle Awards were presented in 2006. Thanks to the talented teams in the government web profession, including the teams represented by this year's entries, our websites have grown from information portals to become the first point of service for our constituents and the windows to our organizations," said Ms. Belli, who also serves NAGW as Pinnacle Awards Chair.

    The NAGW Pinnacles Awards are judged by a group of web professionals inside and outside of the government web industry and are awarded to the best entries based on the following judging criteria: team size, content, organization, design, performance and flexibility, accessibility standards, interactivity, open data, and responsive design.
    Awards were presented this year in each of six population categories for cities and counties as well as awards for state/federal agencies, microsites and special site features.
    Additionally, the NAGW membership voted on the Members’ Choice Awards from among the entries in each category. Pinnacle Awards event sponsor Siteimprove, a leading provider of web governance software, presented the Sponsor’s Award to McKinney National Airport in McKinney, Texas.

    The Steven Michael Moore Pinnacle Award for excellence in a government web profession went to Carol A. Spencer, Executive Director of Stormzero LLC and former NAGW Treasurer and Finance Director.

    “This award embraces the legacy of our friend and colleague, Steve Moore, who passed away in January 2015," said NAGW President Leslie Labrecque. "Carol was a founding member of NAGW whose contributions to the organization were instrumental in its inception and growth, helping to bring us to where we are today. Although she has retired from her day job at Morris County, NJ, she continues to help the government web profession through her work in social media, focusing on emergency management."?

    Ms. Labrecque congratulates all the winners on the outstanding work they do, and echoed a sentiment made by Ms. Spencer during her acceptance speech for the Steven Michael Moore Pinnacle Award, “As web professionals you are the unsung heroes of government and the Pinnacle Awards celebrate how you are making a difference for your constituents.”

    The following are the 2018 NAGW Pinnacle Award winners:

    City Small Population Group

    County Small Population Group

    City Medium Population Group

    County Medium Population Group

    City Large Population Group

    County Large Population Group


    Microsite/Special Site Feature

    Sponsor's Award presented by Siteimprove

    Steven Michael Moore Pinnacle Award

    • Carol A. Spencer, Executive Director, Stormzero LLC; former NAGW Treasurer and Finance Director


    More information about the NAGW Pinnacle Awards >>

    (Photo: Josh Ditthardt, Siteimprove; Susan Mardele, City of McKinney, Texas; Leslie Labrecque)