Barbara Belli Hosting #NAGW2014The National Association of Government Web Professionals (NAGW), the leading organization for local government web professionals, announced its annual Pinnacle Award winners at the 2014 conference in St. Paul, MN, Sept. 11, 2014.

Marc Drummond, NAGW board president, made the announcement Thursday evening at the Crowne Plaza St. Paul Riverfront Hotel. “The Pinnacle Awards celebrates excellence. Our NAGW members do tremendous work with limited resources. Our judges are continually impressed at the level of quality displayed by all of our entries. We are proud to honor these sites which demonstrate the high caliber work carried out by government web professionals throughout the country.” he said.


Pinnacles Awards are judged by a group of web professionals from inside and outside of government web development, and are awarded to the best entries based on the following judging criteria: Team Size; Content; Organization; Design; Performance and Flexibility; Accessibility Standards; and Interactivity. The award is made in each of three population categories for cities and counties, as well as an additional award for microsites and special site features and another award for states and NGOs. Additionally, the Member’s Choice Awards are voted on by the NAGW membership from among the top three judged entries in each category. There is also a Sponsor’s Award presented by the Pinnacle Award event sponsor, Siteimprove.

This year’s award recipients:

2014 Pinnacle Awards

Low population group

Pinnacle: City of Lawrence, KS

Members’ Choice: Town of Fishers, IN

Medium population group

Pinnacle: City of Kansas City, MO

Members’ Choice: Town of Plano, TX

Large population group

Pinnacle: Hennepin County, MN

Members’ Choice: Hennepin County, MN

State/NGO sites

Pinnacle: Montana Department of Justice

Members’ Choice:

Microsite/Special site feature

Pinnacle: Santa Clarita Film Office

Members’ Choice: Santa Clarita Film Office

Sponsors’ Award

City of McKinney, TX

2015 and 2016 Conference Location

During the conference, Drummond announced to the more than 215 attendees that the location of the 2015 NAGW National Conference will be Albuquerque, NM from Sept. 22–25 at the Downtown Hyatt.

As a special surprise, the 2016 NAGW National Conference location was announced as San Antonio, TX from Sept. 20–23 at the Wyndham Riverwalk.

In the future, NAGW will announce conference locations once the board selects the location. This information will be available on to help potential attendees, sponsors and speakers to plan in advance.

About the National Association of Government Web Professionals (NAGW)

The National Association of Government Webmasters ( is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization of local government Webmasters working together to share knowledge, ideas and other resources. NAGW members collaborate on technologies and network with other professionals to improve the capacity to provide the value across the web to member communities.


John Nixon
National Association of Government Web Professionals